skip to main content

Resources for Parents


•  School Emergency Information Guide (English)
•  School Emergency Information Guide (Spanish)
•  How to Report Child Abuse or Maltreatment    
•  Helping Children Cope with Terrorism and Other World Events      
•  Talking to children About Tragedies and Other News Events
•  "Helping Children Cope With Tragedy" Report to Parents
•  Talking to Children About Violence:  Tips for Parents and Educators    
•  Helping Children Cope With Frightening News
•  Discussing Hate and Violence with Children

Death/Grief

•  Grief Interventions for Children with ADHD
•  The Bereavement Center of Westchester     
•  Addressing Grief   
•  When Grief/Loss Hits Close to Home:  Tips for Caregivers 


Natural Disaster

•  Parent Tips for Helping School-Age Children After Disasters
•  Parent Tips for Helping Adolescents

Safety and Crisis Care for Caregivers

•  Care for Caregivers:  Tips for Families and Educators

Contact Information: School Counselors and School Psychologists

•  Daniel Warren
    Michelle Bowman, School Psychologist - 777-4710 or 777-4236 mbowman@ryeneck.org
    Laura Finkelson, School Psychologist - 777-4236 or 777-4710 lfinkelson@ryeneck.org

•  F.E. Bellows
    Vanessa DioGuardi, School Psychologist - 777-4639 vdioguardi@ryeneck.org

•  Middle School
    Elisa Barilli, School Psychologist - 777-4867 ebarilli@ryeneck.org
    Meegan Lawlor, School Counselor - 777-4733 mlawlor@ryeneck.org
    Samantha Chu, School Counselor - 777-4732 samchu@ryeneck.org

•  High School
    Amanda Mahncke, School Counselor - 777-4875 amahncke@ryeneck.org
    Susan Hannon, School Counselor - 777-4873 shannon@ryeneck.org
    Evan Miller, School Counselor - 777-4820 emiller@ryeneck.org
    Dr. Valerie Feit, Co-Director of School Counseling - 777-4832 vfeit@ryeneck.org
     Dr. Nicole Crispinelli, School Psychologist - 777-4876 ncrispinelli@ryeneck.org

Community Resources

Bereavement Center of Westchester
670 White Plains Road, Scarsdale, NY 10583
(914) 787-6158

Community Counseling Center
234 Stanley Avenue
Mamaroneck, NY 10543
(914) 698-7549

National Suicide Prevention 24-Hour Hotline
(800) 273-8255

National Alliance on Mental Illness
(914) 592-5458

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: The links on this page have been evaluated and chosen based on their educational merit. Due to the fluidity of the Internet, sites may change from when they were initially reviewed. Also, it cannot be guaranteed that subsequent links are of equal validity nor that they do not contain objectionable information. It is recommended that adult supervision be provided to elementary age children on the Internet. Due to economic reasons, many sites with suitable educational content may also contain commercial content. These sites have not been excluded but in no way represent an endorsement by the Rye Neck Schools for products advertised.